16th Aachener Membrane Colloquium


The 16th Aachener Membrane Colloquium (AMK), presented and organized by the Chair of Chemical Process Engineering at RWTH Aachen, was held in the Eurogress in Aachen from November 2nd – 3rd. The conference was visited by more than 200 participants from industry and academia.


This year’s welcome reception was held on November 1st at DWI – Leibniz institute for interactive materials. Snacks were served and during an exciting lab tour, all participants were able to get a feeling of the research currently going on at CVT.

  Touring the Labs Copyright: AVT.CVT

One of the main goals of AMK is to connect industry and academia, which worked out really well in this year’s conference. 15 industry booths, more than 30 talks covering membrane topics such as gas separation, water treatment, biotechnology, novel materials etc. and a poster session with over 50 contributions ranging from research results over novel ideas to industrial applications were presented.

  Tobias Lülf presenting his research Copyright: AVT.CVT

Plenary speakers were Piotr Dlugolecki (technology manager; Voltea), Prof. Hyung Gyu Park (ETH Zürich), Tobias Lülf (RWTH Aachen) and Prof. Matthias Wessling (RWTH Aachen).

  Matthias Wessling on the drums at the Gala Dinner Copyright: AVT.CVT

Another highlight of the AMK was the gala dinner at Krönungsaal in Aachen’s town hall. Here, all participants were able to enjoy good music, tasteful food and fruitful discussions.

We want to use this opportunity to thank our sponsors BASF and Evonik for their generous supports.

  Michael Alders gets his poster-award Copyright: AVT.CVT

Another contribution was given out by Pentair, who sponsored this year’s poster price, which we highly appreciate. The winner was Mr. Michael Alders (RWTH Aachen). We want to congratulate Mr. Alders and wish him good luck for his future research.

  The organization-team Robert Sengpiel, Laura keller and Susanne Offermann Copyright: AVT.CVT

And last but not least, we want to thank our organizing team from this year’s AMK, Robert Sengpiel, Laura Keller and Susanne Offermann. Without them, the AMK could have not been held as smooth and well planned as it did.